15 Years Honoring John W. Maitland Jr.

The 2016 John W. Maitland Leadership in Biotechnology Award Reception will be held on October 20, 2016 from 6pm – 8pm at River Roast Chicago – Click Here for more information.

iBIO’s members are leading the research and development of innovative healthcare, agricultural, industrial and environmental biotechnology products that are transforming how we heal, fuel and feed the world. The iCON awards may receive more attention, but our community would not be where it is at without the public officials who have been honored with the John W. Maitland Leadership in Biotechnology Award.

The John W Maitland Jr Biotechnology Leadership Award is given annually to an elected or appointed government official who has provided outstanding support to the Illinois life sciences community. This is the 15th year iBIO has awarded the John W. Maitland Award. Previous winners have helped us pass critical legislation like the Angel Investment Tax Credit, R&D Tax Credit and Biosimilars. Maitland Award Winners have helped us launch programs like the Technology Development Account, Illinois Growth & Innovation Fund, Illinois House of Representatives Biotechnology Committee, Vision for Illinois Agriculture and PROPEL. Awards winners have funded major infrastructure programs like the University Tech Park, MATTER Chicago and provided the leadership and incentive to attract the BIO and AdvaMed conferences to Chicago.

Our community would not be where it is at today without the leadership of John W. Maitland Jr, and the award winners who have followed his example and help the Illinois life sciences community grow.

Tomorrow I hope you will be able to join us in honoring Congressman John Shimkus, Congresswoman Cheri Bustos and State Senator Pam Althoff as our 2016 John W. Maitland Award winners

Click here to RSVP for the dinner.

Chuck Harke, Former Director of Illinois Department of Ag with Senator John W. Maitland Jr.

Chuck Harke, Former Director of Illinois Department of Ag with Senator John W. Maitland Jr.

About John W. Maitland Jr. 

John W. Maitland, Jr., was a Republican State Senator for the 44th District for 24 years. Maitland was first elected Illinois State Senator in 1978.  In 1993 Maitland became Assistant Majority Leader in the Senate.

Maitland received numerous awards and recognition for his legislative work. Including Outstanding Legislator of the Year by the Illinois Association of the Homes for the Aging in 1989, the Illinois Community Action Association in 1989, and the Child Association of Illinois in 1988 and 1989; he received the Legislative Award from the Illinois Correctional Association in 1992, the Layman of the Year Award from the Bloomington Kiwanis Club in 1992, and the Friend of Extension Award from the Illinois Alpha Nu Chapter of Epsilon Sigma Phi in 1995; Senator Maitland received a 100% Rating from the Illinois State Chamber of Commerce from 1992 though 1999, and from the National Federation of Independent Business/Illinois in 1992; in 1995, he received the Illinois State University “E. Burton Mercier Alumni Achievement Award” and in 2001, Senator Maitland received the Illinois Biotechnology Leadership Award.


Previous John W. Maitland Jr. Award Winners: 

2015 Antonio Munoz, Illinois Senate Assistant Majority Leader

2014 Adam Pollet, Director of the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity (DCEO) & Robert Flider, Director of the Illinois Department of Agriculture

2013 Elaine Nekritz, Illinois Representative & Patricia Bellock, Illinois Representative

2012 Daniel Biss, Illinois Representative, Dan Rutherford, Illinois State Treasurer & Tim Johnson, U.S. Congressman

2011 Barbara Flynn Currie, Illinois House Majority Leader & Dan Kotowski, Illinois Senator

2010 Warren Ribley, Director of the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity (DCEO) & Michael Frerichs, Illinois Senator

2008/09 Maria Antonia “Toni” Berrios, State Representative & Susana A Mendoza, Illinois Representative

2007 Michael J. Madigan, Speaker, Illinois House of Representatives

2006 Charles “Chuck” Hartke, Director, Department of Agriculture

2005 Mayor George Van Dusen, Skokie

2004 Jack Lavin, Director, Illinois DCEO

2003 Judy Barr Topinka, Illinois State Treasurer& Mayor Richard M. Daley, Chicago

2002 Bobby L. Rush, Illinois Congressman & Pam McDonough, Director, Illinois Department of Commerce and Community Affairs

2001 Illinois Senator John W. Maitland Jr.

Share This Post:

Comments are closed.